Longing for Childhood Bookshelves

Every time December rolls around, I always manage to forget just how busy everything becomes. Even penning it on the planner to brace myself for the next year doesn’t help! Approaching finals, final papers, holidays…

Well, hello, dear readers, a very belated Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Happy Kwanzaa, or whatever else all of you celebrate this time of the year! I just hope it was filled with family, friends, and all of you stayed safe.

I’ve been wanting to share this for a while, but life has kept me away from this blog!

I’m on the look-out for potential book-finds almost constantly when I’m out shopping. Other people gravitate toward clothing; books seduce me in far more sensual whispers. The only clothing I can probably ever fully appreciate are dust jackets! I was at the local library bookstore the other day (read: weeks ago) when I stumbled on a few childhood favorites! I used to own these books once upon a time, and, somehow, they got lost in the fray of growing up.

These three books were well-read in their time, and I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to buy them all. As seen in the picture above starting in the center: The Polar Express by Chris Van Allsburg, Chasing Redbird by Sharon Creech, and Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White.

It means more than I could describe that all of them are in their original covers. I’ve added them to the growing pile of books that I want for safekeeping. Perhaps I might expand on the why of said collection in a future post.

For now, Happy New Year to all of you! ♥

~ by Page Flirt on January 1, 2012.

2 Responses to “Longing for Childhood Bookshelves”

  1. I happened to pick up a copy of Charlotte’s Web a couple of months ago from a charity shop. Usually pop in for something a little different but when I saw it, it brought me right back to my childhood. (So i’m very pleased to see this blog entry)
    I’ve recently started my own blog as part of a uni assignment. If you have a few spare moments, (which I know are hard to find) would you mind checking it out and maybe leaving a comment. I would be very grateful.
    Thank you.

  2. I am the same way! I’m always on the lookout for good books! And I love classic books in their original covers. I’ve been slowly purchasing the Anne of Green Gable series and the Wizard of Oz series, just because they are classic and deserve to be on my bookshelf! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
